.

First ISA Forum of Sociology
Sociological Research and Public Debate
Barcelona, Spain
September 5 - 8, 2008



Working Group on Local Global Relations WG 01

Main theme
States and Nations between Local and Global: Global challenges and local responses


Venue of WG01 sessions:

Faculty of Communication Blanquerna
University of Ramon LLull
Valldonzella, 23
08001 Barcelona, Spain, map



Session 1. Opportunities and prospects of sustainable development in the conditions of globalization

Saturday, September 6, 2008, 11:30-13:30

Chair: Krzysztof Ostrowski, Pultusk School of Humanities, Poland, ostrowskikrzysztof@yahoo.com

Presenters:

1. Ivana Modena, Webster University, Switzerland, i.modena@hotmail.com: The Uncertain Process of Glocalization

2. Linoberg Almeida, Universidade Federal de Roraima,Boa Vista – Roraima – Brazil, linoberg@yahoo.com.br: Mysterious Ways: Brazil, Guyana and the rough paths of being global and local at the same time.

3. Janna Grishenko, Belorussian State University, Minsk, Belorussia, grishchenko@tut.by: The capital city in the context of global-local relation

4. Mauricio Novoa, School of Engineering, University of Western Sydney, Sydney, Australia, M.Novoa@uws.edu.au : International Collaborative design studio project: preparing industrial design student for the Global emerging economy

5. Elena Kuchko, Sociological Department, Belorussian State University, Minsk, Belorussia, consortium@tut.by: Social innovations in the Local-Global Context

6. Vincenzo Romania, University of Padua, Italy, vincenzo.romania@unipd.it: Cultural Facilitators: an empirical approach to difference



Session 2. Territorial, national and political identities: new social challenges

Saturday, September 6, 2008, 15:30-17:30


Chair: Henry Teune, University of Pennsylvania, USA, hteune@ssc.upenn.edu

Presenters:

1. Arvydas Matulionis, Institute for Social Research, Vilnus, Lithuani, matulionis@ktl.mii.lt: Evolution of national identity in Lithuania

2. Zh.Toschenko, Russian State University for the Humanities, Moscow, Russia, zhantosch@mtu-net.ru: Centaur–Problems as a Special Case off Cognition and Social Practice

3. Kusein Isaev, Bishkek Humanities University, Kyrgyz Republic, kusein@elcat.kg: Globalization processes and problems of self-identification of the oriental nation

4. W.O. Taylor-Cole, St. Mary’s University & Mount Royal College, Alberta, Canada, wilfred.taylorcole@shaw.ca, The Social Challenges of multiculturalism in Canada: A critique and discussion paper

5. Patrick Gun Cuninghame, Autonomous University of Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua, Mexico, pcuninghame@hotmail.com: Hybrid Identities and Transnationalism Across Shifting Borders

6. Anna Krukovskaya , UCPR-researching Centre, Moscow, Russia, krukovskaja@mail.ru: Manifistation of world theatrical tendencies in Moscow repertory theatre

7. Koray Degirmenci, Middle East Technical University, Ankara, Turkey, korayd@metu.edu.tr: The contestations between the local and the global: Exoticity and authenticity in the world music scene in Turkey

8. Zakia Salime, Assistant professor of Sociology, Michigan State University, USA,salime@msu.edu: Dynamics of Movements, Islamist and Feminist Politics in Morocco



Session 3. Rural societies and rural communities in the global world

Sunday, September 7, 2008, 09:00-11:00


Chair: Nataliya Velikaya, Russian State University for the Humanities, Russia, velik69@mail.ru

Presenters:

1. Giaime Berti, University of Pisa, Italy, gberti@agr.unipi.it: Reassembling the rural: from the rural space to the rural web

2. Anna Zaikina, Saratov State Academy of Law, Saratov, Russia, annazzz@inbox.ru: Rural communities in Russia in the conditions of globalization

3. Arun Kumar, Department of Political Science, University of Hyderabad, India, maruncu@gmail.com: The Magnitude of Local Governance in Globalization Era- A Study of Tribal Areas of Andhra Pradesh

4. Ildikó Asztalos Morell, Department of Eurasian Studies, Uppsala University, Sweden, Ildiko.Asztalos@eurasia.uu.se: Generation change and recruitment of agrarian entrepreneurs in Hungary during the transition to capitalism

5. Angela Guarino, University of Bologna, Italy, angela.guarino@unibo.it: Local food and new connections: Cases of Sustainable rural development in Less Favoured Areas



Session 4. Transformation of democratic principles in conditions of European integration: progress or regress

Sunday, September 7, 2008, 11:30-13:30

Chair: Janna Grishenko, Belorussian State University, Minsk, Belorussia, grishchenko@tut.by

Presenters:

1. Alexandre Roslyakov, Russian State University for the Humanities, Moscow, Russia, karsuh@gmail.com: Social Roots of Folklore Figures and Images in Russian Discourse about Politics

2. Marta Klekotko, Institute of Sociology, Jagiellonian University, Krakow, Poland, marta.klekotko@uj.edu.pl: Balance in Action: The Case of Radzionkow in Upper Silesia in Poland.

3. Gloria de la Fuente, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain, GLORIA@SOC.e.telefonica.net: Immigrants in Spain: identity changes and integration strategy

4. Miroslava Tsapko, ESPAR-analyst Research Agency, Moscow, Russia, miroslava@ultranet.com: City information as political phenomena perception analysis

5. Nataliya Velikaya, Russian State University for the Humanities, Moscow, Russia, velik69@mail.ru: The role of the Left European parties and movements in the constructing and forming sustainable society in the context of Globalization

6. Anna Radiukiewicz, Pultusk School of Humanities, Institute of Political Studies, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland, radiukiewicz@wp.pl: Civic socialization in Poland and the role of European integration – the case of Polish Civic Organizations

7. Larisa Vdovichenko, Russian State University for the Humanities, Moscow, Russia, vdlarissa45@ya.ru: Evaluating of democratic values in the Political Culture of modern Russia.